चर्चे चौके के Charche Chauke Ke

Hey! Join in the Kitchen Gossip!!

Masaledaar Aloo ki sabji

Posted by vivnidhi on December 7, 2007

100_1047.jpg

Acorn Squash & Potatoes

The acorn squash was sitting there, turning orange by the day……” Why am I being neglected?”, it said, from the top of the refrigerator. Drawing all my attention yet being silent. Yes, I am talking about squash and pumpkin when the title screams potatoes:). The quiet pumpkin (again silently) adds  a lot of taste to my favorite recipe.  So, finally, before it would dry up on me and blame me for its condition, I picked it up. The squash certainly seemed happier, all peeled and cut up next to its dear potatoes. What the leftover squash; saran wrapped and in the refrigerator is saying to me now is another story:)).

Masaledaar aloo ki sabji (poor pumpkin wasn’t even mentioned) was always made in my house to be paired with Calcutta crisp Kachoris (wonder why we named it so but someday I will blog about it too!). Ah! those Sundays when my mother would make them……I would rarely have a count of how many Kachoris I ate or how many times I served the sabji. Now, when I can’t go frying kachoris and eating them often, at least I can indulge in this favorite vegetable gravy. As I was making it, I remembered of the Grindless gravies . This recipe has no grinding involved whatsoever. It uses a few ground masalas found in almost every Indian kitchen.

The most important ingredients here are ginger, heeng (asafoetida),coriander powder and kalonji (nigella seeds). Without kalonji, it just would not taste as good and without coriander powder,  it just won’t get the right consistency and smell. A very informative post about nigella seeds is Mistress of Spices, finally .

The recipe:

Potatoes 2, chopped into bigger pieces
pumpkin about 1 cup, chopped small
ginger 2 Tbsp., chopped up
green chillies 2
tomato 1 (optional)

Masala
Heeng 1/4 tsp.
nigella seeds 3/4 tsp.
cumin seeds 1/4 tsp.
turmeric 1/2 tsp.
red chilli powder 1/4 tsp.
coriander powder 2 heaping Tbsp.
Dry mango powder/amchur 1/2 tsp.
Garam Masala 1/2 tsp.
yogurt 2 Tbsp.

100_1050.jpg

Heeng in the box & clockwise from left: cumin, nigella seeds, turmeric,red chilli
powder, coriander powder, amchur powder in the center is garam masala

100_1051.jpg

Chopped up pumpkin, potatoes, ginger and green chillies

Once the masaldaan (a round box with small cups for holding dry masalas)is out and vegetables chopped, we are almost done. First heat the pressure cooker and to 2 tsp. oil add heeng, cumin and nigella seeds.  Once they start to splutter, add yogurt, ginger, green chillies, chopped tomato, turmeric, red chilli and coriander powders. Brown them well, add a Tbsp. of water if need be to prevent the masalas from sticking to the pan. I used canned sliced tomatoes as I didn’t have any fresh ones. Next, add pumpkin and potato along with 1 1/2 cups water and salt and mix well. Close the pressure cooker, put in low medium flame and say the mantra” Fill it, shut it and forget it” You can forget it for upto 30-45 mins but after that you will have to remember it. You could add some water and reheat if the consistency is thicker. After putting the gas off, and when you can open the pressure cooker, mix the contents well, the pumpkin should just dissolve in the gravy.  Add garam masala, amchur powder and garnish with chopped cilantro. You may avoid adding the amchur powder if you find the gravy sour enough.

The sabji goes best with kachoris, but pooris or pranthas  do fine as well.

100_1059.jpg

Masaledaar Aloo ki Sabji

9 Responses to “Masaledaar Aloo ki sabji”

  1. sra said

    Hi Nidhi, thanks for the entry. I love nigella seeds too, used them even today to perk up some boring veggie I made. Fill it, shut it … some bike ad, right, what was it, a Bajaj?

  2. vivnidhi said

    Hey Thanks Sra! Hope you had a great time in your vacation. Yes, the fill it, shut it……ad was a Hero Honda motorcycle ad:)

  3. Nupur said

    That looks delicious. I would love to try it soon now that squash is in season.

  4. vivnidhi said

    Hey Nupur,
    Thanks for visiting my blog. Hope you like the sabji when you make it!

  5. Zlamushka said

    Hi Vivnidhi,

    lovely blog you have here, my first time. I love the simplicity of your sabji dish.

  6. vivnidhi said

    Hi Zlamushka,
    Thanks a lot for visiting and the kind words. Try the sabji out……….tastes good:).

  7. Abhi said

    Fantastic recipe!! tried it love it thanks Nidhi

    Thanks for trying Abhi! I am glad you liked it!

  8. [...] A paronthi well made should not have doughy edges and should be uniformly cooked. Peethi ki paronthi tastes fabulous with achar, dried potato curry or my all time favorite Masaledaar Aloo ki Sabji. [...]

  9. Kshipra said

    hi nidhi,
    nice presentation and nice blog you got here. Do visit my blog in your free time and let me know about any reactions.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

