चर्चे चौके के Charche Chauke Ke

Hey! Join in the Kitchen Gossip!!

Broiled Cauliflower

Posted by vivnidhi on March 1, 2009

Feb_13

Broiled Cauliflower

I have not written anything besides Daring Bakers challenges for the past 3-4 months. Finally, I am back to writing something cause it does not involve any recipe. Just an idea!

I do this very often when I am in a hurry. Most vegetables get under broiler when I cannot dress them better…….most root vegetables ……and ah delicious onions. Almost any type of onion tastes amazing after a trip under the broiler.

Do you remember that I received frozen strawberries from Rena Basch of Locavorious. Well ! I also got a lb of frozen cauliflower. Yeah! thanks a lot Rena!! Cauliflower is a favorite of everyone in the house.

Before I go ahead with the minor detail of what I did with it, I must talk of asafoetida. I know its not a very pleasant smelling Indian spice but it’s almost irreplaceable with cruciferous vegetables. Even though packed with vitamins and minerals, cruciferous vegetables like broccoli, cabbage and cauliflower are notorious for their gas causing tendencies. Asafoetida (Heeng, a digestive aid ) used in very small quantities, nulls this effect and adds a wonderful aroma to the vegetables. Hardly a vegetable gets cooked in my kitchen without asafoetida. Asafoetida has a very unpleasant smell when it is raw but when it is cooked, the smell becomes quiet smooth and it is an integral part of Indian food and specially the lentils.

I will confess, I was not a fan of this spice for the longest time. My mother would often have to make a separate tadka (spices fried in oil) for me cause I would not eat asafoetida and my grandmother would not eat her daal without it! I never had a sibling but I am sure, my grandmother’s and my squabbles would have made my mother not miss having two kids :-). 

Fast forward to my kitchen, where I ruled after my wedding, I craved the authentic taste and asafoetida had to be there. I had brought with me from India the actual whole gummy asafoetida chunk and it was an effort in collaboration indeed when the husband and I would sit and break it using his weights 🙂 . Now, I have settled down to using the store bought powders (which are mixed with some grain or the other) but I do not mind it much. Garlic is a good substitute, if you do not want to use heeng, just use garlic. I believe it is a good idea to use either asafoetida or garlic when cooking cruciferous vegetables and greens.

The Recipe:

  • Cauliflower 1 lb. (about 4 cups broken flowerets)
  • Oil (Olive, Canola or vegetable) (avoid using extra virgin olive oil for this) 2 Tbsp.
  • salt to taste
  • Red Pepper flakes/ground black pepper 1/4 tsp.
  • asafoetida 1/4 tsp. or substitute 2 cloves minced garlic
  • Cilantro leaves for garnish a handful

OK, so I just like to break the cauliflower into big flowerets , if its frozen, that’s done for you too. Put the oven on for the top coil or the broiler. Adjust the rack to about 6″ from the top coil.  Mix all the ingredients well, except the cilantro.

To make cleaning easier , I line the baking tray with aluminum foil. Spread the cauliflowers on a baking tray. Keep checking the cauliflowers every 5 minutes or so to see if they are done. The cauliflowers should be ready in 10-15 minutes.  These can actually be seasoned as one pleases. Can be eaten as a snack or as a side dish to almost anything. Or these can then be wrapped in a spicy curry. Choices are endless.

This afternoon , I just used salt and asafoetida and that was delicious.

Feb_11  Feb_17

Perfect Lunch: Cauliflower with daal, rotis, yogurt and Papad

2 Responses to “Broiled Cauliflower”

  1. […] Broiled Cauliflower « चर्चे चौके के Charche Chauke Ke […]

  2. Snehal said

    I liked this one Nidhi and I am going to try it at home… I am forever lost for cauliflower dishes. The one I know is super involved and happens only for parties 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
