चर्चे चौके के Charche Chauke Ke

Hey! Join in the Kitchen Gossip!!

New Year Shots and Rassedaar Lauki

Posted by vivnidhi on January 1, 2008

Its difficult to live in Michigan and not fall in love with nature. When we moved from the bay area in California to Michigan , it was scary. Most other students who were then leaving this beautiful University town would say that they are glad to leave the snow behind as they had grown tired of it. But three winters here and I still look forward to the ground turning pure white…….as if defining the color white for me. The trees still, frozen, laden with white. Let me not start poetry and prose here……..but its difficult you see……..

100_1173

100_1174

A lot of people can complain that so much snow isn’t really conducive to driving around and partying all night. But, we enjoyed a fantastic home made 6 course meal, good music and just being us in this lovely weather…..yay:)!!

Anyway…why am I digressing…………mine is a food blog! So, yesterday’s efforts at cooking left me a little exhausted today. Well! third trimester of pregnancy is certainly slowing me down a little now. So, this morning, I decided to indulge in easy, quick, pure comfort food for me………Rassedaar Lauki. The humble Opu (as called here in the USA) or bottle gourd does not get its due most often. We usually don’t make it for company……unless we make koftas out it and dress it in so much masala that lauki/ghiya gets lost somewhere. I have an unusual memory of Lauki, different from most people…….I think. My father has always been careful about what he ate and so rassedaar lauki would be made at least 2 times a week in my house. My mother would also find it very easy to cook when she would return from work. I would really get tired of eating it. Why is it that masala, onion, garlic is used so sparingly in my house……why is it like a Sunday treat. Today, I am grateful to my parents for helping me eat right. Now, I crave the same simple food after every heavy meal.

100_1175

The humble Lauki/ Opu/Bottle Gourd

This is my first entry to food-during-pregnancy-event hosted by simpleindianfood. I think its quite an interesting concept……….specially for me, right. Everything I make should be included……..right:)) ? Bottle gourd is also good for pregnant women because of its high water and fiber content. It also helps in relieving constipation.

The Recipe:

  • Lauki/Bottle gourd/Opu 1 medium
  • Tomatoes 2 medium
  • Ginger root  1/2 tsp. minced (optional)
  • Oil 1/4 tsp.
  • Asafetida/Heeng 1/4 tsp.
  • Cumin seeds/Jeera 1/2 tsp.
  • Turmeric powder 1/2 tsp.
  • red chilli powder 1/4 tsp.
  • salt to taste.
  • Coriander/Cilantro leaves for garnish 1/2 bunch

Oh! What would I do without a pressure cooker? Ok, I can’t do much, I accept. This can be made in a wok/kadhai also but it would take a little longer to cook. In case, you have to use the wok, add tomatoes after the bottle gourd has softened.

Chop the opu and tomatoes. Heat the pressure cooker and add the oil to it. Add heeng, jeera, turmeric, red chilli powder and ginger. Let the cumin seeds pop a little and then add the chopped vegetables. Add salt to taste and two cups of water. Close the pressure cooker and let it work while you catch up on another food blog:). After two whistles, the bottle gourd is ready. Let the pressure cooker cool and then garnish the bottle gourd with lots of chopped cilantro leaves. You could adjust the amount of liquid in this stew to your liking but traditionally it has a fair amount of rassa (liquid). Its this easy to make it but the taste is really delicious. Traditionally, it goes best with hot paranthas but I like it with roti, rice or even plain.

100_1189

Rassedaar Lauki

Edit July 15 2008:
I tried but I could not get bottle gourd this month. I am submitting this posted recipe to Vegetable of the week-Bottle Gourd hosted by Pooja of My Creative Ideas. Thanks for the opportunity to resubmit Pooja.

12 Responses to “New Year Shots and Rassedaar Lauki”

  1. mandira said

    the last picture looks delicious. Happy New Year!

  2. vivnidhi said

    Hey ! Thank you and a very Happy New Year to you too!

  3. TBC said

    Hey Nidhi,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and leading me to yours. I don’t think I’ve been here before.
    Those are some beautiful winter pics.

    Happy 2008!

  4. vivnidhi said

    Mine is a very new blog. Thanks for visiting.

  5. First time on your blog and feeling great to be here…thanks for sending in this wonderful entry..and ya you definetely can send in all your entries for the event

  6. vivnidhi said

    Hi EC,
    Thanks for visiting and I should be able to send you some more entries. Everything I make these days is food during pregnancy.:)

  7. mandira said

    Nidhi, great to know that you are also from ann arbor. We will have to meet up sometime. Those are beautiful pictures!

  8. Those snow covered trees look magical.

  9. vivnidhi said

    Hi Mandira, We should certainly plan something on meeting up.Looking forward to it!

    Hey Susan, Thank you. Means a lot when you say it cause I love the way you blog and take pictures. Thanks for visiting!

  10. kutusk said

    I tried your Rassedaar Lauki today and it was awesome in taste and so easy to preprare…….thanks so much for sharing.

    I am so glad you tried and liked the lauki curry. Loved your blog. Guess what, my ancestral town is Calcutta too……

  11. Pooja said

    nice recipe Nidhi. than k you for being a part of VoW-Bottle gourd.
    I am glad to be a part of VoW Pooja, just sorry I couldn’t post about what I wanted to without a picture. Next time:) .

  12. sivi said

    I loved the winter pics you posted here… simply wonderful pics with a simple recipe!!

Leave a comment